Carry on, My Wayward Son (The River)

Carry on, my wayward son

your crooked smile, gnarled dogtooth, will beguile

the huddled masses

 

Carry on, my wayward son

 your complexion that requires constant reflection

that deepest shade of jaded race

 

Carry on, my wayward son

 let not the hate of the world burden your shoulder, move the boulder

equality is one step closer

 

Carry on, my wayward son

your bright speeches eaten up by the young, a resounding drum

in the grey of post-consumerist society

 

Carry on, my wayward son

encapsulate the struggle, shown the humble

suffering of the good, and instigated change.

Carry on, my wayward son

It takes time to reach across the aisle, to move the sea

so ingrained in its habits.

 

Carry on, my wayward son

It takes time to teach, to reach 

those who have always been taught to fear the dark.

 

Carry on, my wayward son,

there’s hope, so long as you smile

that the world can one day be yours.

just dip your feet in,

submerge yourself one day at a time

into the river of life.

 

Leave a Reply

