Run (Feast Atop the Hill)

Run

sunshine, it’s you again,

sly silver fox, rag-tooth smile

voice soothing as rain

Run

You’ve seen me, scurrying

feet a patter, platters whirling

you try to help, ease my hurrying.

Run

you tried your best

sent inside by beleaguered bosses

take a seat, have a rest.

Run

You’re talking, asking around

I’m running, twirling, trying to get things done

I’m starving, though food abounds

Run

I try to take you, in brief snippets

poke fun at you, fake-rage at your jokes

with you my heart is but a fluttering cricket

Run

this feast has turned into an emergency

I’ve misunderstood the hunger

of scientific minds, feasting with urgency

Run

an hour passes

the rain pounds down

but still remain the starved masses

Run

I see you wandering, lost, lonely

I tap your shoulder and bump another man next to you

Getting you to talk like old cronies

Run

the storm has settled, the food is gone

your contemporaries sit bloated

bellies engorged as they rest on the lawn

Run

I finally have time to see you, sunshine.

To really speak to you, not just my angry platitudes

But you’ve already gone–lost somewhere in time

Run

Between mad dashes inside

and slipping between tents

it seems I’ve been brushed aside.

Run

I don’t mind, you’ve got your folks

a home, a life, a wife

what of me? I’m but a ghost.

Run

(Hide inside)

Run

(Where no one can see you cry)

Run

(to the forest, to be with the trees)

Run

where the only sound is me.

Leave a Reply

