Daydream ( Hiss from the Moat)

Sitting on the hill

bored, not quite wanting any thrills

but certainly something more excting than just this hazy daze.

 

Spring has come

why aren’t we having any fun?

this is the one season that couples are supposed to bloom.

 

Fruitless, flightless, let’s ignore the company of others.

I’ve got failed experiments, organisms to smother.

I steal a book from my borrowed lab on my way back.

 

This blue book is about cetaceans,

those flippered gray-black amalgamations

smart like people, but so much more murder in their eyes.

 

Whale ecology is not a cuddly as you’d like to think

black-eyed orcas just want to see you sink,

blood clouding the water as they feast on you.

 

Blackfish, blackfish, complex niche you’ve carved

We hold you captive, where you slowly starve

Who will free you when the world ends?

 

I read on, lost in a daydream

remembering when life was like whipped cream

when intellect was a gift, when it didn’t hurt to be awake

 

I hear a voice, far away

its my love, that golden hum should hold sway

over this pained page turning.

 

Suddenly he grabs me, screaming my name

I look down, and see what’s to blame

My foot inches away from a greedy duochrome face.

 

Hisses from a verdant moat

the scream is caught in my throat.

your beady eyes stare out from the algal blooms.

 

In my stammering stutters into your white walled cell

forgetting about my own, almost caught in death’s knell

languidly dropping into your jaws as if to say hello

 

For now I laugh it off,

“I was just distracted”, I explain as he scoffs

Just like the rest of the world.

 

Blackfish, blackfish, complex niche you’ve carved

We hold you captive while you slowly starve,

Who will free you when the world ends?

Leave a Reply

