Empire of Salt

dear one, 

you’ve taken the pipette from me again.

This is the first time. I understand,

You see me tremble, you don’t want others to see my fears. 

Science is frightful, and you’ve already seen my tears.

I thank you

 

dear one, 

you’ve taken the pipette from me again

This is the second time. I understand,

I’ve just told you I’ve had no sleep all night

Too worried about perfecting my latest conservation bytes.

I forgive you.

 

dear one, 

you’ve taken the pipette from me again.

This is the third time, I understand.

I promised I would come to see you, to speak of times of old.

Instead I went upstairs to speak with him still blessed with joints of gold.

I misled you.

 

dear one, 

I’ve taken the pipette from you again.

This is the my time, please understand.

I know that you love me, and I love you too

I could never survive without our parties of two.

 

I think of you all day, your presence a sharp salt at the tip of my tongue.

Glimmers of you jump in my heart like silver-fin fish  leaping through the saltwater bund.

Fear not, dearest heart of ricepaper and salt

gritty personality, like so many shards of glass

I’ve not left you, I have just strayed.

I have gone to sing songs of you, in praise.  

 

 

Leave a Reply

